Commissions and Boards

Planning Commission: The Planning Commission is responsible for reviewing rezoning requests, conditional use permits and promoting the comprehensive plan.

Appointment to Planning Commission

The Town Council of Clifton Forge is soliciting Town residents to apply to fill a vacant seat on the Planning Commission. The Planning Commission is responsible for zoning, planning and development review and recommendations to Town Council.

Applications are available online and at Town Hall and will be accepted through Friday, July 9, 2021. Please send a letter of interest with you name, address, phone, email address and qualifications to:

Clerk of Clifton Forge Council

P.O. Box 631

Clifton Forge, VA 24422

Please contact the Town Manager’s office at (540) 863-2500 if you have any questions.


The Planning Commission meets on the 1st Thursday of each month as needed.


Susan Goings

Diana Kling Smith, Vice Chairperson

Ione Callendar

Mac Campbell, Chairperson

Pamela Irvine

John Riley


Town of Clifton Forge Va Planning Commission public hearing AGENDA 8-6-20 (Adobe .pdf)

Town of Clifton Forge Va Planning Commission public hearing AGENDA 5-7-20 (Microsoft Word)

ARB (Architectural Review Board): The Architectural Review Board reviews new construction, modifications, and demolition in the Town’s historic district to preserve, protect, and encourage appropriate rehabilitation of the Town’s designated historic architectural, and cultural resources.

The ARB meets on the third Thursday of each month, on an as needed basis.


Town of Clifton Forge Architectural Review Board (ARB) Application (Fillable)

Sign Application (Fillable)



Wendy Hudler

Amy Rice Dew

Gayle McIntosh

Wilma McClung

Dorothy Hayslett

Board of Zoning Appeals: The Board of Zoning Appeals hears appeals by persons aggrieved by any decision of the Zoning Administrator. The Board may reverse, affirm or modify the decision of the Zoning Administrator. The Board shall, in specific cases, authorize variances from the Zoning Ordinance. The Board shall grant special exceptions, when authorized by the Zoning Ordinance, upon proper application.


Martha Edwards

E. C. Jones, Jr.


EDA (Economic Development Authority) Board


Glen Perry

Brandon Caldwell

Roy Wright

Jennifer Oeltjen

Richard Deaton

Ronald Goings

Citizens Advisory Committee: The Citizen Advisory Committee was appointed by Town Council in April 2015 and consists of eight members.

Members meet on a monthly basis to discuss issues that are important to the Town.

Although the committee meets without Council, their purpose is to be an an extension of Council with improved communication being the goal. The committee speaks and listens to residents who do not normally attend Council meetings and gathers information, both positive and negative, that would be helpful to Council–issues that Council needs to be aware of to improve and enhance the Town and quality of life of its citizens.

Members of the Citizen Advisory Committee need to be good listeners, keep an open mind, be alert to issues, problems, needs, encourage discussion, rely on personal experience, disregard hearsay or rumors, and be committed to improving the Town of Clifton Forge.

Citizen Advisory Committee meetings are open to the public.


Tamara Reid, Chair   Phone:  540-862-0480

Gilbert Davis   Email

Andy Bostic   Email 

Karen Buzzard   Phone:  540-863-4961

Patti Davis Ross   Phone:  540-862-3461


Library Board: The Clifton Forge Public Library Board advises the Council and the Town Manager on all matters pertaining to the town library.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email